Louisiana Law Review celebrates anniversary of Voting Rights Act with annual Symposium

The Louisiana Law Review held its annual Symposium on Friday, Jan. 16 at the LSU Law Center. This year’s Symposium, “The Voting Rights Act at 50: The Past, Present, and Future of the Right to Vote,” featured a keynote address by Mississippi College School of Law Dean Wendy Brown Scott and three panels of experts. Each panel focused on a different aspect of the Voting Rights Act. The first panel discussed the history of the Voting Rights Act, while the second panel debated electoral gerrymandering. The third panel looked to the future of the Voting Rights Act with an emphasis of the Shelby County decision.

The Louisiana Law Review would like to thank the more than 100 legal practitioners and students who attended the Symposium and engaged in vigorous discussions. In addition, thank you to the Law Review Coordinator Melinda Braud, Articles Editors C.J. Murray and George Holmes, and the LSU Law professors who worked tirelessly to organize the Symposium.

Editorial Board Holds Orientation for Junior Associates

photo 1

The Louisiana Law Review held its annual orientation Sunday afternoon at the Paul M. Hebert Law Center for its newest Junior Associate class. Members of the LSU Law faculty, including Chancellor Jack Weiss, Professor William Corbett, and Professor Phillip Hackney, congratulated the Junior Associates on becoming members of the Law Review. The LSU Law faculty members also advised the Junior Associates on what to expect during their year as a Junior Associate and provided tips on selecting topics for their Comment or Case Note. In addition, the Volume 75 Editorial Board discussed its role in the publication process and shared advice with the Junior Associates.