Brad Oster Cited in Gulfport Energy Corporation v. FERC

We are thrilled to share that Brad Oster’s article, Reigning in Regulatory Overreach: FERC’s Role in Bankruptcy, published in Volume 82 of the Louisiana Law Review, was cited this summer by the US Court of Appeals for the 5th Circuit in Gulfport Energy Corporation v. FERC. Read the decision and Brad’s article here:

Louisiana Supreme Court Cites Louisiana Law Review Alum

We are thrilled to share that the Louisiana Supreme Court cited to Olivia Guidry’s Comment Res Judica-duh! The Impermissible Expansion of Claim Preclusion Through Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Article 425, published in Volume 82 of the Louisiana Law Review, in its recent decision of Carollo v. Department of Transportation and Development. Olivia is a Louisiana Law Review alum and served as the Editor-in-Chief of Volume 82. Read the Louisiana Supreme Court’s decision and Olivia’s Comment here:

Volume 83 Junior Associates Announced!

The Louisiana Law Review Volume 83 Board of Editors and Senior Associates would like to extend our congratulations to the newly selected Volume 83 Junior Associates. It is a great honor to be selected as a Junior Associate, and we are very excited to introduce them to you!

The Louisiana Law Review Editorial Board and Senior Associates welcome the following:

Mark Ackai

Haley Baker

Megan Broussard

Matthew Clark

Zachary Crawford

Sydney Curtis

Brendan Cuti

Lance Delrie

Elise Diebold

Madeline Earles

Evan Gaudet

Tyler Hays

Joseph Kaiser

Tess Layton

Tyler LeBlanc

Julien LeBlanc

Jake Lee

Nathan Long

Tamra Manfredo

Caroline McCullars

Trystan Melancon

Paige Meno

Corey Rackler

Taylor Roos

James Truett

The First Circuit Court of Appeal’s Limitations on a Usufructuary’s Rights: Cole v. Thomas

by Macy Spencer


Louisiana law grants different rights and obligations to usufructuaries and naked owners.[1] A usufructuary who reserves a lifetime usufruct over a property has the right to enjoy the property as she pleases, and the naked owner has an obligation to not interfere with that enjoyment.[2] However, in Cole v. Thomas, the First Circuit Court of Appeal limited the right of the usufructuary when it held that the usufructuary could not evict the naked owner solely on the basis that the usufructuary no longer desired the naked owner to live on the property.[3]

Continue reading

Puff, Puff, Passed: Governor John Bel Edwards Greenlights Smokable Medical Marijuana with the Passage of House Bill 391

by Harper G. Street


Historically, when the media has discussed the question of marijuana legalization in the United States, Louisiana was not among the states that experts predicted would ever pass pro-cannabis legislation.[1] Since 2015, however, the state has taken several steps to ensure that medical marijuana becomes available to people suffering from ailments that can be treated with THC products.[2] Though it has been a slow and incremental process, the proliferation of marijuana legislation in Louisiana evidences that the legislature is taking meaningful steps to formulate the most progressive drug-related policy the state has ever seen.

Notably, Governor John Bel Edwards recently signed House Bill 391 into law, allowing, in part, for the Louisiana Medical Marijuana Program to provide raw, smokable cannabis to its patients with a doctor’s recommendation.[3] Prior to the enactment of this bill, only THC oils, edible gummies, and processed tinctures were available for patients in the program to purchase.[4] These changes not only have the benefit of pushing Louisiana towards adopting a more progressive marijuana policy as a whole, but they also make medical marijuana itself much more readily available to the numerous patients who truly need it.

Continue reading